Howdy, Folks! It’s State Fair time again.

Ah, the State Fair. An event that manages to combine three of my least favorite things–big crowds, loud noise and greasy food–with the bonus of getting to pay for the experience. This year was only my second ever visit for a reason.

It wasn’t bad, though. We had some fun time as a family, managed to avoid much of the food (by eating out on the way) and the noise, if not the crowds. And we avoided much of the cost by sticking to the free attractions. The (free) bird show, the only part I really enjoy, did not happen this year unfortunately. My youngest daughter’s favorite, the (free) petting zoo, did return with a fairly decent sampling of Noah’s cargo.

Here's my daughter petting a zebra.
Here’s my daughter petting a zebra.

My oldest daughter bought a henna tattoo, which, as with everything in the fair, seemed a bit pricey for what she got. But she chose wisely from the less expensive designs–something I’ve noticed she’s very good at when forced to use her own money for things. And when we got thirsty after sampling the free ice cream, we split a $3 bottle of Dr. Pepper among the four of us. (The term you’re looking for is frugal not cheap 😉 !)

After wandering the sale tents for a while (where I was sorely tempted to toss my budget into the bin and set it afire), we made our way to the Ferris wheel. Now, I have a great head for heights, love them actually, but I’ve never cared for Ferris wheels. Probably because I’ve only ever ridden the tiny specimens of dubious structural integrity that inhabit traveling carnivals and set off my internal caution alarms. I love heights, but I’m not under even the slightest impression that a fall from one would lead to anything but a very unpleasant end.

The State Fair’s Ferris wheel, though, didn’t bother me. The cart didn’t move much and I felt securely enclosed. And the view was spectacular. Say what you will about Dallas, but it does present a unique and lovely skyline.

Dallas Skyline 2015
Dallas Skyline 2015

If it weren’t for the cost of the tickets, I might have agreed with my youngest daughter’s request to stay until dark to ride again and see the lights.*

All in all, it was worth braving a few of my least favorite things to hang out with my husband and kids and enjoy the good weather.

*Interesting fact: where I grew up in the country about thirty minutes east of Dallas, we could see the top of the green-lighted building on a clear night without the aid of any lens. I think today the light pollution from the booming suburbs between here and Dallas makes that impossible.

Leave a Reply

